Reviews

What people are saying about Stiles Of Ambleside




Lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

The room was lovely and clean, with a couple of bottles of wine and water on arrival. The staff are very friendly and bend over backwards for you during your stay.

Reviewer:Stuart Holloway | Tue 5th Sep 2017


Lovely, comfortable room in great location. - Rating 5/5

We stayed here 3 nights while I was training for the Lakes in a Day race. They were flexible about us checking in late and also leaving my bags after we checked out. The room was lovely and everything seemed newly refurbished. Nice shower with high pressure.There were lots of options for breakfast including vegetarian and gluten free. Great smoothies too! Complimentary bottles of wine and very nice sparkling water were a nice touch. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Victoria Walsh | Sun 6th Aug 2017


What a wonderful experience - Rating 5/5

My wife and I stayed for two nights, before and after I raced the Ultimate Trails ultra. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were looked after by all of the staff and owners. They showed such an interest in us and nothing was too much trouble. The room was fantastic;quiet, well decorated and comfortable. The breakfasts were superb and everything could be catered for. If I enter the race next year then the first thing I will be doing is booking another stay at Stiles!

Reviewer:Simon Walkden | Mon 3rd Jul 2017


Short but sweet stay at Stiles - Rating 5/5

Very pleasant, but all too brief, one night stay at Stiles. We had the \'Shiraz\' room which was very well appointed and immaculately clean. Lovely en suite with spacious shower and the complimentary bottles of wine, which we saved for our train journey home, were a nice touch. Terrific breakfast selection and friendly staff. Would highly recommend and be happy to stay again.

Reviewer:Leila Chadderton | Thu 29th Jun 2017


Weekend stay at Stiles - Rating 5/5

Can highly recommend this B&B. Our room (Merlot) was of a high spec, very clean and tidy plus was very well equipped. The owners and team were very welcoming and helpful. Breakfast was tremendous. Would definitely return to this B&B couldn\'t find fault whatsoever. Thanks for having us.

Reviewer:Angela Roberts | Mon 26th Jun 2017


Super stay - Rating 5/5

Fantastic stay at Stiles, rooms large clean and decorated to a high standard. Breakfast delicious. Will stay again.

Reviewer:Emma Dowse | Mon 29th May 2017


Great location and kind staff - Rating 5/5

For my first visit to The Lake District, this was such a perfect location to stay at as the room was very comfortable, clean and quiet whilst the kindness from the hosts was nothing short of exemplary. I shall be returning here when I next visit Ambleside.

Reviewer:Marc McOwens | Tue 23rd May 2017


2 night stay at stiles - Rating 5/5

First time we\'ve stayed at stiles and we will be back to stay at this fantastic little place again.The staff were fantastic and nothing was a problem to them.The breakfast in the cafe was delicious and set us up for the day ahead.Thanks again to stiles for being so helpful and welcoming during our 2 night stay.

Reviewer:Karen Bell | Mon 8th May 2017


Style at Stiles - Rating 5/5

What an exceptional find!A lovely, well appointed, well decorated room with very comy bed and great shower. All the little touches like full sky package, little bottle of wine etc made me sorry I hadn\'t stayed longer. The owners and staff are clearly happy at their work which makes for a wonderful vibe. A very friendly, comfortable place to stay and a 10 out of 10 from me.

Reviewer:Lynn Mulholland | Tue 25th Apr 2017


Great revisit- Rating 5/5

Brill B&B. Second visit and hope for many more. Really friendly team woth professional service.Rooms immaculate! Thanks again!

Reviewer:Kathryn Thornton | Tue 11th Apr 2017


Excellent service, fantastic value! We will be back! - Rating 5/5

From the minute we walked in we felt welcome and relaxed. Our room was beautiful and clean. We were bowled over by the complimentary wine in the room! When is anything ever complimentary these days? A really lovely touch. The bed was super comfy and we had 2 great sleeps, followed by a breakfast fit for kings. We travel a lot, this place really is exceptional and we will be back soon!

Reviewer:Katherine Bott | Tue 4th Apr 2017


Great weekend break - Rating 5/5

Stopped here for a couple of nights and i have to say it\'s hard to fault anything. The room was clean, in fact spotless, the bed was so soft which made for a very comfortable stay.The breakfast was great with loads of option\'s. All in all a great stay. Thanks to all the staff.πŸ˜†

Reviewer:Mark Hyland | Mon 3rd Apr 2017


Another great stay - Rating 5/5

Our 2nd stay at Stiles was every bit as good as our first and we will definitely be returning.Cannot fault food, room or staff.

Reviewer:Margaret Jackson | Sun 2nd Apr 2017


Simply Wonderful - Rating 5/5

I cannot recommend this accommodation enough. Our room was lovely, the shower was fantastic. The attention to detail and the level of service couldn\'t be better. Breakfast is a wonder in itself;so much choice. Location wise, Stiles is in a great position, handy for everything in the town. We would stay again in a heartbeat.

Reviewer:Mark Shaw | Mon 13th Mar 2017


Little gem - Rating 5/5

Lovely stay again. Reluctant to comment on how lovely it is here as we don\'t want toomany people to book so we can still have visit when we want

Reviewer:Mrs. Carol Bell | Mon 13th Mar 2017


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

Brilliant B and B, unfortunately we only stayed for 1 night. Everything was excellent from the friendly staff to the delicious breakfast. The room was clean and comfortable and it was nice having comfy seating for 2 as often there is only 1 chair. The added touches (wine and water) were much appreciated. The only problem I can see is with consistently good reviews it may be fully booked next time we want to stay and we would definitely want to return

Reviewer:joan howard | Mon 13th Mar 2017


Beautiful B&B! - Rating 5/5

Best B&B we have ever stayed in. The room was beautifully decorated and the bed very comfortable. But the best is the staff who are so friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. Will definitely return here!

Reviewer:Vikki Marshall | Mon 2nd Jan 2017


New year stay - Rating 5/5

friendly staff, lovely clean room with its added extras(wine,sky tv,toiletries,fresh towels daily). Great breakfasts. Free parking. Enjoyed that much already booked to go again

Reviewer:Helen Leach | Mon 2nd Jan 2017


Great welcome - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed my short stay. Great welcome and very helpful in meeting my requirements including early breakfast.

Reviewer:Peter Weall | Mon 28th Nov 2016


Spot on! - Rating 5/5

I needed a couple of nights in Ambleside and was very pleased how relaxed and comfortable Stiles was. What I like, amongst other things, was the little touches like wine in the room and good quality shampoo and conditioner. These things are appreciated and so get my recommendation.

Reviewer:Jeanette Williams | Mon 14th Nov 2016


Comfy spot - Rating 5/5

A really nice size room , very comfortable, breakfast excellent,friendly staff ,thank you for a lovely weekend

Reviewer:Donald Breeze | Mon 31st Oct 2016


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - a lovely warm and inviting place to stay. The welcome by Jan and her staff, the bottles of wine, the fab breakfast, all added up to our wonderful experience. We have booked to return for our wedding anniversary in February. Thanks .

Reviewer:Margaret Harrison | Thu 27th Oct 2016


Perfect in every way- Rating 5/5

We have stayed at Stiles numerous times and it is always perfect..lovely rooms, brekkie and the staff are all lovely. We took our son and his wife on our latest visit and they were equally impressed! We will be back next year 😊

Reviewer:Mrs. Yvonne Leathley | Mon 17th Oct 2016


Perfect mini-break. - Rating 5/5

We can\'t recommend Stiles highly enough. We stayed for only one night but received the warmest of welcomes. Our room was superb, clean and fully equipped. 2 small bottles of red winewere greatly appreciated and the breakfast was amazing. Wonderful! Thank you!

Reviewer:Richard Bainbridge | Sat 15th Oct 2016


Just great - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Stiles and will definitely be returning.Our room (Merlot) was spotless and well equipped. Breakfast was the best we have had for a long time in the Lakes.All the staff were friendly and happy to assist - all in all a great stay at Stiles which we would have no hesitation in recommending

Reviewer:Mrs. Margaret Jackson | Tue 11th Oct 2016


Excellent B & B - Rating 5/5

The staff at the Stiles are wonderful and were friendly at all times. I really appreciated my cooked breakfast even when I was late down to the cafe. The room was very clean and great to have sky TV. I wouldn\'t hesitate to stay again and have already recommended Stiles to friends and family. Thanks for such a nice stay.

Reviewer:Stephen Edwards | Tue 11th Oct 2016


A great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Another delightful stay at Stiles. My room was spacious, nicely decorated and had a very comfortable bed. The full Sky TV package is another nice touch. The owners and staff are lovely and nothing is too much trouble for them. And the breakfasts are superb!

Reviewer:Mark Stirling | Thu 6th Oct 2016


Fab Break - Rating 5/5

Our 2nd stay at Stiles.We always feel like part of the family. Nothing is too much trouble, excellent choice for breakfast, cosy, comfortable rooms.Discount in the coffee shop.Will definitely be returning

Reviewer:Mrs. Tracey Dutton | Sun 2nd Oct 2016


Comfortable. - Rating 5/5

Lovely room and staff very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended

Reviewer:Tim Carlisle | Mon 12th Sep 2016


Just wonderful! - Rating 5/5

Stayed at Stiles August Bank holiday and we were not disappointed. Lovely welcome,shown to our room which was beautiful and sparkling clean everywhere. Bed was very comfortable and sky TV a huge plus for the hubby.The complimentary wine was a lovely touch too. Breakfast was very good. The staff were great, especially Liam, made sure we had everything we needed. Can\'t recommend enough, probably one of the best places we have stayed in Ambleside and will return very soon hopefully!

Reviewer:Tracy Mcpherson | Tue 30th Aug 2016


Fantastic once again! - Rating 5/5

The friendliest place to stay in Ambleside. Great room and facilities and perfect location. All food is amazing! Staff were so lovely when we realised we booked the wrong dates and swapped the booking for us. This is our second time at Stiles and it won\'t be the last!

Reviewer:Stephanie Moakes | Wed 17th Aug 2016


Perfect place to stay - Rating 5/5

Situated right in the heart of Ambleside this family run business was perfect from start to finish. Rooms modern and kept spotlessly clean throughout. Food in the cafe attached excellent too (breakfast included in stay). Our hosts couldn\'t have been friendlier or more helpful. The location was perfect for us as within a few minutes walking distances to shops and the number of excellent restaurants in central Ambleside. However, despite being central the rooms are quiet at night being away from any main roads. We will definitely be returning.

Reviewer:Paul Stokes | Sun 7th Aug 2016


Best B&B in the Lakes - Rating 5/5

Wow.What a find.This is one of the best places we have ever stayed in (and have stayed in a lot of places in the UK).The staff are so friendly &helpful &the breakfasts extremely good (best porridge anywhere!!!).Lovely little touches in the bedroom &also a bonus of having a parking permit for car parks in the southern lakes.Due to only having 2 rooms you have to book pretty early!!!.Will definitely stay again when visiting the Lake District.Thanks to all the staff for making our stay so pleasurable.

Reviewer:Larry Green | Fri 29th Jul 2016


Hubby\'s 50 th birthday- Rating 5/5

Excellent food, room was beautiful and staff friendly and helpful

Reviewer:Janis Williams | Wed 27th Jul 2016


Stiles of ambleside - Rating 5/5

Just returned home after our 3rd stay at Stiles. Yet again accommodation, food, staff, cleanliness, helpfullness all superb.Nothing is too much trouble. Its a pleasure staying there. Thank you

Reviewer:Julie Vinall | Sat 23rd Jul 2016


An excellent place to stay - Rating 5/5

This is an excellent B and B. The bedroom is modern, tastefully decorated and clean with a comfortable bed. There are some nice touches in the room such as wine and bottled water. There is an excellent choice of breakfasts provided in the cafe downstairs. The owners are extremely welcoming. We look forward to returning.

Reviewer:Neil Rackham | Tue 19th Jul 2016


Fantastic stay- Rating 5/5

Me and my husband stayed here last weekend to celebrate my husbands birthday from start to finish the stay was fantastic. We arrived and were shown to our lovely room with king size bed, full sky package and drink of still water and white wine. Breakfast was delicious, we both really enjoyed the full English and the parking permit was ideal for seeing other parts of the Lake District. We will definitely be returning.

Reviewer:Mrs. Susannah De Giorgio | Mon 18th Jul 2016


Short break - Rating 5/5

Excellent all round stay staff friendly,accommodation excellent and clean and food fabπŸ˜€

Reviewer:Stewart Beresford | Sat 16th Jul 2016


Fabulous!!! - Rating 5/5

Can\'t praise this place highly enough!The whole place is absolutely spotless, the bedrooms are very comfortable and spacious, the proprietors and staff cannot do enough for you and the breakfasts are delicious and filling.Will definitely come back and stay again.

Reviewer:Garry Walker | Wed 6th Jul 2016


Great B&B- Rating 5/5

Great room, hospitable staff, great vibes. 100% recommend it.

Reviewer:Dan Hope | Thu 30th Jun 2016


Weekend break - Rating 5/5

Excellent service and hospitality will definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Maria Buxton | Wed 29th Jun 2016


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Our second stay was as good as the first, with Janet &team offering a great welcome, a super room and great food. Couldnt ask for more and we will be back.

Reviewer:Barry Comar | Mon 27th Jun 2016


Excellent bed and breakfast - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Stiles for three nights in May and cannot compliment the owners (Janet &husband) enough. The room was very well appointed with a huge en-suite bathroom and the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. Breakfast in Stiles cafe was equally good and plentiful. We would love to visit again however, as we live in Australia it might be some time. We hope that Stiles continues with the excellent service and accommodation.

Reviewer:Janet Wallace | Fri 17th Jun 2016


Overnight stay - Rating 5/5

Fabulous stay again. The staff, accommodation and food are all excellent, and nothing is too much trouble.Will definitely recommend and stay again!

Reviewer:Mrs. Ann Lees | Mon 13th Jun 2016


A wonderful weekend - Rating 5/5

Good location,lovely friendly staff and delicious breakfast.Good size fresh clean bedroom with a nice bottle of wine on arrival.Can\'t recommend Stiles highly enough 10 out of 10......thank you

Reviewer:Antony Bailey | Fri 3rd Jun 2016


2nd May bank holiday - Rating 5/5

We stayed for 2 nights during the 2nd May bank holiday weekend and it was a great stay!

Reviewer:Roberto GΓ³es Neto | Tue 31st May 2016


Hidden delight - Rating 5/5

What a delightful treasure! It is not just the sumptuous room with its luxury appointments and sublimely comfortable bed;the staff are the most obliging and friendly folk imaginable. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Derek Curnow | Fri 27th May 2016


luxury - Rating 5/5

Stiles cafe staff are so friendly, they go iut of their way to make your stay enjoyable and relaxing. Our merlot room was gorgeous, very comfortable bed, huge bathroom. The cafe is situated in the centre of ambleside ideal location for walking, shopping, meals out etc.

Reviewer:Tracey Dutton | Mon 23rd May 2016


Stiles Of Ambleside - Rating 5/5

Lovely rooms and found staff very friendly and helpful

Reviewer:Crawford Wallace | Mon 9th May 2016


Excellent accommodation, food & hospitality. - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation, food &hospitality.

Reviewer:Maria Buxton | Sun 8th May 2016


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

We had a great stay, the room was comfortable and clean and quiet. Breakfast is delicious and comes at a time of your choosing so there is no morning rush, bonus! Best of all the staff a friendly and welcoming and made us feel at home. Thanks Stiles for a great weekend.

Reviewer:Lee Milmore | Mon 2nd May 2016


Shiraz for group walking weekend - Rating 5/5

A lovely calm space (much needed). Superbly comfortable and with excellent facilities in the room. Excellent central Ambleside location. Handy for everything. Very tasty, plentiful breakfast. Incredibly warm hosts;genuinely interested in their guests. A pleasure to chat with. Superb stay. I have already recommended to friends and will return with my partner.

Reviewer:Karen Ward | Mon 18th Apr 2016


A fantastic find! - Rating 5/5

I can\'t recommend Stiles highly enough. From the lovely rooms and breakfasts to the warm welcome I received on arrival and throughout my stay. I\'ll definitely be staying here the next time I\'m in Ambleside.

Reviewer:Mark Stirling | Wed 13th Apr 2016


Beautifully presented rooms in the heart of Ambleside- Rating 5/5

I booked the stiles Shiraz room for a surprise getaway for my wife, we wasn\'t disappointed on entering the room, 5* accommodation! Very comfy bed, lovely shower and very nice furnishings. The cafe where you have your breakfast is extremely tasty. Overall extremely pleased with our stay.

Reviewer:Chris Thomson | Wed 6th Apr 2016


Love this place - Rating 5/5

2nd time at Stiles and it just feels so welcoming and homely.Room, facilities, location, staff, friendliness and cleanliness. Superb. Thank you to Janet and your lively family and staffx

Reviewer:Julie Vinall | Tue 5th Apr 2016


Wonderful stay . - Rating 5/5

The beautifully decorated,spotlessly clean rooms are in a fantastic spot. The room was superb and the breakfast delucious. The whole stay ws a real pleasure. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Caroline McDonald | Sat 2nd Apr 2016


Amazing!! - Rating 5/5

We loved the Stiles and will definitely be coming back and recommending it to others. Fab rooms and customer service

Reviewer:Alexandra Cowley | Wed 30th Mar 2016


Fabulous stay - Rating 5/5

Fabulous stay.This is the 2nd time have stayed here and would definitely stay again. Would recommend anyone to stay there

Reviewer:Jeff Elliott | Mon 28th Mar 2016


Fantastic- Rating 5/5

The accommodation was spotless ,with full sky tv package and the bed very comfortable. The breakfast was as good as we have had anywhere and the staff could not do enough for us . Will be returning soon. Cannot recommend this place highlyenough

Reviewer:John Christopher | Tue 22nd Mar 2016


Anniversary treat - Rating 5/5

We had a very nice visit yet again. I think it\'s our fourth time at Stiles. Great location, yummy breakfast. Spotlessly clean. Janet,Stuart, Laura and Liam all lovely. Thank you for another fabulous visits. Regards Yvonne and Winston

Reviewer:Mrs. yvonne leathley | Tue 15th Mar 2016


one night business stay - Rating 5/5

Very nice room in a central location. Complimentary eine on arrival was a nice touch. Breakfadt and service was great.

Reviewer:Chris Symons | Sat 12th Mar 2016


Great weekend break - Rating 5/5

Great place to stay ,rooms are excellent and all the staff are so friendly and welcoming.

Reviewer:PAUL PHILLIPS | Mon 7th Mar 2016


Fabulous - Rating 5/5

just great lovely clean warm room (Shiraz)Thanks for the wine by the way friendly atmosphere and the best breakfast couldnt fault anything will go again

Reviewer:Hugh Wilson | Sat 27th Feb 2016


First time at Stiles - Rating 5/5

We are two couples of differing age groups. All agreed that the location, standard of rooms, service and friendliness of staff made our short break definitely one to remember for all the right reasons. Great parking arrangements meant we could walk from the accommodation straight onto the fells. The breakfast was absolutely first class too. Definitely in the diary for a return visit.

Reviewer:David Fyles | Thu 25th Feb 2016


New Year at Styles - Rating 5/5

This is one of the friendliest and cleanest places we have stayed. Recommend The Styles to anyone.

Reviewer:Kevin Featonby | Mon 4th Jan 2016


Excellence - Rating 5/5

Loved everything about the place especially how clean it was. πŸ˜€

Reviewer:Lisa Cremin | Thu 24th Dec 2015


Brilliant place to stay! - Rating 5/5

Had a great stay at Stiles, the quality of accommodation was excellent, amazing breakfast, the staff were really welcoming and helpful. The parking permit allowed us to park all over not just in Ambleside which was really helpful. Cannot recommend highly enough!

Reviewer:Jessica Lewis | Wed 23rd Dec 2015


Another welcoming stay - Rating 5/5

After myself and my wife stayed we recommended to our sons. They have both stayed seperately with their girlfriends and enjoyed the same warm welcome and hospitality as we did. We will return and strongly recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. John Hector | Mon 21st Dec 2015


Fantastic Weekend in Ambleside - Rating 5/5

Lovely spacious warm rooms. A great welcome. Nothing is too much trouble for the friendly staff Breakfast menu is extensive and you can have it up to 3pm! Sky and free wi fi a super bonus, oh and free parking - great deal.

Reviewer:Mr. Ann Murtagh | Mon 23rd Nov 2015


Stiles of Ambleside - Rating 5/5

Stiles cafe a great place would highly recommend for accommodation and delicious breakfast.Very friendly owners and staff,try the amazing homemade cakes.Will definitely be back.

Reviewer:Sheila Turbitt | Thu 12th Nov 2015


Overnight stay 6.11.15 - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely night at Stiles. First class room, amazing afternoon tea and breakfast. The staff were friendly and helpful. Will definitely be back!!

Reviewer:Bill Hodgson | Sun 8th Nov 2015


Relaxing retreat for one... - Rating 5/5

Wonderful short break at Stiles - the perfect retreat for a weary soul! My double room was immaculate, with a very comfortable bed, power shower and lots of homely touches to enjoy. Perfect location in the centre of town, but extremely quiet for a good night\'s sleep and dawn view of the fells.The hospitality of Janet, Stuart and their kind, friendly team went above and beyond what I expected. Nothing was too much trouble, including a vegan breakfast...very satisfying start to the day! Guest rooms are set above the cafe, offering total privacy, but great if want to pop down for a snack or coffee, which is top quality, locally sourced and fair trade.If you\'re looking for a comfortable, great value, high quality room in Ambleside, look no further as this is it!Thanks to everyone at Stiles, I\'ll be back with my partner when he\'s ankle has healed!

Reviewer:Joanna Huddart | Fri 16th Oct 2015


Excellent- Rating 5/5

A lovely stay everything was thought of wonderful people great food. 5 star

Reviewer:Darren Smith | Wed 7th Oct 2015


Stiles of Ambleside - Rating 5/5

What a lovely time we had in Ambleside with a superb room in Stiles. Made very welcome by all staff, but especially by the owners. The breakfast was superb in the relaxed coffee shop, can only highly recommend, we will definitely be going back soon.

Reviewer:Barry Comar | Tue 22nd Sep 2015


Excellent hotel - Rating 5/5

Stay for three nights, very present stays. Convent, helpoful information and good breakfast as well. Room is brand new and high standard facility. Provided not only bottle mineral water and also wine for free.

Reviewer:Jiujin Cui | Sat 12th Sep 2015


Delightful stay - Rating 5/5

Could not fault anything from excellent facilities to friendly staff a lovely stay will definitely be staying again thank you so much x

Reviewer:Mandy Robinson | Tue 1st Sep 2015


Fantastic stay in a great location. - Rating 5/5

Great location, convenient, lovely breakfast in the cafe and fab bedrooms. Wifi dropped in and out in the bedroom but I had phone signal so wasn\'t a problem.

Reviewer:Stephanie Moakes | Wed 19th Aug 2015


Short stay - Rating 5/5

Facility and Staff first Class.Nice touches like complimentary wine on arrival, free parking permit for various car parks around the Lake District and full Sky package.Breakfast as good as I have had.The room was spotless and bed as comfortable as I have slept in.

Reviewer:Peter Ross | Sun 16th Aug 2015


Perfect - Rating 5/5

Perfect accommodation. Welcoming hosts, nothing too much trouble, really helpful. Stunning accommodation and great breakfast. Will stay again.

Reviewer:Stephen Brooks | Fri 14th Aug 2015


Perfect! - Rating 5/5

We loved every single minute at Stiles of Ambleside. The room was very cozy and had everything you need to feel comfortable and at home (complimentary biscuits, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and wine!). Great selection of toiletries (big bottles of good quality ones, not the usual small and useless ones!). Lovely staff trying to help all the time and amazing breakfast! Will definitely come back! Loved our stay!!!

Reviewer:Iolanda De Nicola | Sun 9th Aug 2015


Stiles of Ambleside- Rating 5/5

Wonderful place to stay, great location, Great room with great facilities, But best of all the staff where the most friendly of any place I have ever stayed, They could not do enough for you, And the Breakfast was fantastic, I will be coming back here when next up in the lakes.

Reviewer:John Thompson | Mon 29th Jun 2015


Lovely place to stay! - Rating 5/5

I had a lovely welcome and the room was immaculate. Stiles is in middle of Ambleside therefore close to everything. Breakfast in the morning was lovely. Can\'t fault it!

Reviewer:Jane Melvin | Sat 27th Jun 2015


location perfect - Rating 5/5

spotlessly clean, convenient for the town centre, great breakfast, welcoming and attentive owners.

Reviewer:Dale Cook | Fri 26th Jun 2015


Comfortable, spotless room, wonderful hospitality - Rating 5/5

I was welcomed and made to feel like a member of the family.The ensuite room was modern, comfortable and spotless.The restaurant food was excellent, the service attentive and extremely thoughtful.I wouldn\'t hesitate to recommend Stiles.It\'s downtown Ambleside within walking distance to everything!

Reviewer:Carole Champion | Thu 18th Jun 2015


First Class Accommodation & Service - Rating 5/5

My husband and I stayed at Stiles of Ambleside during the weekend of the Great North Swim.Excellent accommodation, excellent staff, excellent food, complimentary in room wine, what more could we ask for.Nothing was too much trouble, in fact the owners went out of their way to make our stay there memorable, so much so we didn\'t want to go home!Thank you Stiles!!

Reviewer:Carole Jackson | Mon 15th Jun 2015


Mid week break - Rating 5/5

We stayed for two nights in the Merlot room. The accommodation was first rate - immaculately clean and modern, with everything you would need available.The restaurant was spacious, airy and also immaculately clean and the American continental breakfast was fantastic! All of the staff were friendly and helpful and the location was perfect.We have already decided we will be returning in the future.

Reviewer:Tracy Evans | Sat 13th Jun 2015


Weekend break in Ambleside - Rating 5/5

Stayed here for our wedding anniversary in the Merlot room.The room was well decorated, furnished and very clean.Complimentary bottles of water and wine were well received.The hosts were very attentive and friendly. Breakfasts were enjoyed by both of us.

Reviewer:Mrs. Carol Baxendale | Mon 8th Jun 2015


beautiful rooms with loads of extras! - Rating 5/5

Excellent service!the rooms are finished to a beautiful standard. perfectly clean! the added extras are the cherry on top! mini bottle of wine foreach occupant, full size hair dryer, shampoo,conditioner, tea, coffee, water and mini vanity sets are very sweet. the breakfast was top notch! the cafe is very stylish with high quality produce! will definatley be coming back for a longer stay!thank you sara and nick Warburton

Reviewer:Mrs. Sara Warburton | Sat 6th Jun 2015


Great place to stop and eat - Rating 5/5

The staff at Stiles have provided a wonderful place to stop at and eat. The room was well appointed and of course the location in the heart of Ambleside is ideal.The provision of a parking permit is a wonderful bonus. The breakfast was superb.Congratulations to all the hard work you have put in and here\'s to the future

Reviewer:Colin Ball | Sun 31st May 2015


Excellent 5 Star standard B+B - Rating 5/5

Outstanding service from the Stiles team from the moment we arrived to the last day in our 2 night stay. Room was of a very high standard along with Excellent shower after a full day walking on the fells. Breakfast was excellent and the location is excellent. Good luck with this venture you have certainly raised the bar for the others to follow. Hopefully will see you all again.

Reviewer:David Bate | Tue 26th May 2015


Warm, friendly and comfortable - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed every minute at Stiles. Felt welcome and really well looked after and not as a paying guest but as a friend. Definately well recommened

Reviewer:Tarek Ghadamsi | Sun 24th May 2015


Breakaway- Rating 5/5

Stiles coffee shop is amazing everyone is very welcoming and friendly you all work extremely hard to please everyone. Room was excellent with a lot of nice touches big comfy bed great shower. Breakfast was so good and plenty of it, everything was amazing we will be back.

Reviewer:Toni Holmes | Tue 12th May 2015


Stiles Ambleside - Rating 5/5

Could not fault our whole stay we where made very welcome the room was top quality . Breakfast was very nice Would stay there again

Reviewer:Gary Cleary | Tue 28th Apr 2015


Wonderful peaceful accommodation- Rating 5/5

Staying at this lovely, comfortable family run accommodation was a real treat. My room to the back was very quiet, very pretty with such a comfy bed, large shower. The owners gave me a warm welcome and were very helpful, bringing me a welcome large glass of ice and water to my room when I Returned tired and hot from my walk! Great breakfast with multiple choice, as breakfast is in the little cafe downstairs run also by the owners! Great idea. Location is perfect in Ambleside for exploring the lakeside, rstaurants in the evening. I will be back!

Reviewer:Margaret Magee | Sat 25th Apr 2015


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

I was immensely impressed with the Stiles of Ambleside and highly recommend this place to everyone. The rooms were beautifully decorated with fine attention to detail. The staff were extremely attentive and helpful. The small bottle of wine in the room was a very nice touch. We attended a wedding in the area and the staff coudn`t be more helpful with any request we had.The breakfast was memorable and even when I asked for more was not a problem. I am British but live in Switzerland and the high standard of the accomodation and the great staff I will definitely reccomend the Stiles of Ambleside and will definitely go back for a longer stay. Thanks to all!!

Reviewer:Vanessa Kelly | Thu 23rd Apr 2015


Stiles of Ambleside - Rating 5/5

A real gem of a place, such friendly welcoming people. Nothing was too much trouble and all our dietary requirements were catered for. The room was spacious and well furnished and the little touches were very much appreciated. Already planning the next trip.

Reviewer:Peter Shimmin | Tue 21st Apr 2015


Perfect - Rating 5/5

We would recommend Stiles to anyone, we received a lovely warm welcome on arrival. Location is great, breakfast is amazing, bedroom was nice and spacious and spotlessly clean, if we return to the lakes would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:James Clayburn | Mon 20th Apr 2015


Stiles of Ambleside - Rating 5/5

Had a great night at Stiles. Lovely room, very bright and very cozy room. Great attention to detail and everything we needed was provided. Lovely staff and a great breakfast too! Highly recommended Stiles!

Reviewer:Jason Heaps | Sun 19th Apr 2015


Great place to stay! - Rating 5/5

A super room with all that we needed and more! all the staff were welcoming and friendly and the room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Good central location in Ambleside .

Reviewer:Veronica Whitfield | Tue 14th Apr 2015


Fabulous Break - Rating 5/5

Can\'t fault this place! Gorgeous accommodation, lovely food and very friendly staff! Will definitely recommend and hope to visit again! Well worth the hours of travelling! Beautiful accommodation in a beautiful town.

Reviewer:Naomi Bartholomew | Sun 5th Apr 2015


Stiles of Ambleside- Rating 5/5

The owners were fabulous, nothing was toouch trouble. Location was brilliant , right in the centre of Ambleside. The room was superb value for money with some nice touches such as wine .. And parking permit ..breakfast yummy, nice coffee .. Could not fault it and will definitely return

Reviewer:Wendy Tinnion | Sat 4th Apr 2015


lovely place - Rating 5/5

everything perfect lots of little extras lovely people and great choice of Breakfast.

Reviewer:JULIE Waring | Thu 2nd Apr 2015


Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

Fabulous two night stay at Stiles in Ambleside. Great hosts, lovely breakfast and excellent location. Couldn\'t fault anything about our trip and we will be returning very soon.

Reviewer:David Kay | Fri 27th Mar 2015


Thank you - Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation and the staff were extremely helpful. A gem in terms of relaxing in a beautiful aesthetic space/environment.

Reviewer:Jo Gilmartin | Mon 23rd Mar 2015


excellent - Rating 5/5

The staff were friendly and made you feel at home couldnt do enough for you. The rooms were clean, light and airy plenty of hot water. Couldnt fault or find fault with stiles, woll be defo using again, recommended with a shadow of a doubt

Reviewer:Robert Beckles | Sun 22nd Mar 2015


Great weekend - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Perfect location and although very central the room was peaceful. Excellent room and en-suite, with a bed that was so comfortable it was hard to get out of in the morning. Also thanks for the excellent breakfast and afternoon tea.

Reviewer:Paul McEvilly | Sat 28th Feb 2015


The perfect weekend - Rating 5/5

Fantastic contemporary room,outstanding decor, excellent facilities in the room,free wifi, tea/coffee making, full sky tv, sumptous bed, lovely power shower, very helpful/friendly staff, couldnt wish for more.

Reviewer:Craig Tipton | Sun 1st Feb 2015


Book Online

Our Facilities


  • Credit Card
  • Free Parking
  • City Centre
  • Internet Services
  • Wifi
  • Gay Friendly
  • Vegetarian